Twitter rolls out global circles feature for close friends only
Users can add up to 150 people to their circles, and people in circles will see a special green badge under the tweet indicating that the post is only available to that group, not the user’s public timeline. A user can choose who is in his Twitter circles, and only people added by the user can view, reply to, and interact with tweets shared by the user in his circles.
Users don’t even get notified when someone adds or removes them from a circle. Additionally, Twitter doesn’t allow users to leave a circle, so users have to block the person who created the circle to stop being a part of it. While the social network doesn’t officially acknowledge this, “circles” are one of the ways the company has come up with to stop people from locking down their profiles, while keeping specific posts somewhat private. Like locked individual tweets, users cannot retweet tweets posted in circles. With this rollout, users can choose to tweet to their public timeline, their circles, or the communities they belong to.
Last week, Twitter revamped its audio label to include more than 2 million podcasts with live spaces. The redesign will introduce personalized “stations” for different topics such as sports, news, movies and music, which will offer recorded podcasts and live audio sessions.