Google Photos users on iPhone and iPad will soon be able to lock their most sensitive pictures in a special password-protected folder, thanks to a new feature in the iOS app.At present, the privacy lock folder function is only available for Pixel phones. It allows users to save photos and videos in an application in a separate space that requires a password or fingerprint to enter.
The media files saved in the folder are still hidden, which means that when users scroll through their Google photos or any other applications on their devices, sensitive photos will not show up. This feature will be available on iOS “early next year”.
At least in the current Pixelcell phone, Any cloud backups of items placed in locked folders will be automatically deleted from Google’s servers.
Google describes its photo and video backup service as a “safe home for life memories” thanks to the “world-class security” and encryption technology it uses to protect these photos.
However, despite these safeguards, Google was forced to contact about 100,000 users last year to inform them that some private videos backed up on its servers were accidentally sent to strangers due to “technical issues.”
Apple still hasn’t provided the corresponding function in its iOS native photo app. But it includes an option to hide certain photos from the photo database into a “hidden” folder, which can be truly hidden in the photos app, but even so, use the image in a third-party app When the selector is selected, the album can still be seen, so it cannot be completely protected from prying eyes.